If you are a member of Queensland Writers Centre, this month you can find an interview with me by fellow author Kathy George. In the interview I talk about winning the 2013 Queensland Literary Award for Best Emerging Author for my verse novel Gap. I also talk about the early beginnings of the manuscript, the inspiration behind it, how the win changed things for me and some of my future writing goals.

‘I first met Bec, now 25, somewhere between 2009 and 2010 when we were both studying creative writing at Queensland University of Technology, and found ourselves completing the same units. I quickly developed an admiration for her work. It was in a tutorial that Gap – Bec’s winning verse novel – made its debut in the form of a university assignment, and I was honoured to be one of the critique group who first read it, most of the group being left speechless by the experience.’ (Kathy George, WQ Magazine Feb 2014)

If you are a QWC member you can read the rest of the interview here on page 5 of this month’s issue of WQ Magazine.

