This Sunday I will be giving a free talk about my experiences as a debut author and how I went from finishing a creative writing degree to getting my first novel published. I’ll also be doing a short reading and be giving some tips about making the journey from unpublished to published writer. You can check out the full program herethere’s a bunch of fantastic local authors giving free talks throughout the day and I hear there’s even pizza at the end of it all! Details for my session are below.

Eat Your Words Festival @ University of Queensland, St Lucia

Sunday 30 November

Time: 3.00-3.45pm

Session: Filling The Gap

Rebecca Jessen shares the story of how she moved from being a creative writing undergraduate to a published novelist. As 2013’s Best Emerging Author in the Queensland Literary Awards, she definitely has some tips and inspiration for aspiring writers.

In other news, I’m excited to announce that I am one of 47 recipients of the inaugural AMP Tomorrow Maker grants awarded by the AMP Foundation. There were over 3000 applications from people all over Australia and 47 were chosen as AMP’s Tomorrow Makers. I was awarded the grant to help support me while writing my next book. I’m extremely proud to have been chosen as a Tomorrow Maker and humbled to be in such inspiring company with artists, athletes, inventors, researchers, disability advocates, social innovators and many more receiving grants to help fulfill their dreams.

I have a write-up and video talking about my project and what the grant means to me on the website. You can check it out here and while you’re there be sure to read about all the other amazing projects happening all over Australia.

