Just last week, the long list for the Sisters in Crime 15th Davitt Awards was announced. I’m very pleased to announce that my verse novel Gap has made the long list for Best Debut Book. Sisters in Crime Australia has been around since 1991 and is an organisation dedicated to celebrating and promoting women’s crime writing. The Davitt Awards are a national award for the best published crime books by Australian women. The award was first presented in 2001 and is named in honour of Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) who wrote Australia’s first mystery novel Force and Fraud in 1865.

The Sisters in Crime 15th Davitt Awards shortlist will be announced in late July. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Gap, there are so many amazing authors on the long list, to have my work placed beside them is already such an honour.

Sisters in Crime also have a Reader’s Choice Award, last year’s winner was Hannah Kent with her debut novel Burial Rites. Members of Sisters in Crime can vote on their favourite long listed crime book by an Australian woman published in 2014 by following this link.

The timing of this announcement couldn’t be better, as I have just published an article titled ‘The Value of Prizes’ in the latest issue of The Victorian Writer which is the magazine produced by Writers Victoria. In ‘The Value of Prizes’ I talk about my journey to publication through writing prizes, and I provide some tips for other emerging writers who are looking to break into the publishing industry. The June issue of The Victorian Writer is ‘The Writer’s Toolkit’ and contains plenty of great advice for emerging and established writers. You can purchase a copy here.

