I’m a little late in posting this news, but the shortlist for the Sisters in Crime 15th Davitt Awards was announced a couple of weeks ago. I’m super proud to say that my verse-novel Gap has been shortlisted for Best Debut.

There are some wonderful books on this shortlist and across the other categories, and I would urge you to check them out and support Australian women writers.

If you have signed up for the Australian Women Writers Challenge this year then perhaps you will find some inspiration for your reading list. I know I have, and I realise we are already halfway through August and I’ve yet to post a review! I’ll have a review of Evie Wyld’s Miles Frankline Award-winning novel All The Birds Singing up on my blog very soon! I’ve certainly had my head in books all year, but it’s good to remember to come up for air every once in a while and let everyone know what you’ve been reading.

Below is the shortlist for the Davitt Award for Best Debut, the other shortlists and the official media release can be found here on the Sisters in Crime website.

2015 Sisters in Crime Davitt Awards

Best Debut

·         Lollie Barr, The Adventures of Stunt Boy and His Amazing Wonder Dog Blindfold (Pan Macmillan Australia)

·         Christine Bongers, Intruder (Woolshed Press – a Random House imprint)

·         Candice Fox, Hades (Random House)

·         Anna George, What Came Before (Penguin Books Australia)

·         Rebecca Jessen, Gap (University of Queensland Press)

·         Virginia Peters, Have You Seen Simone? The story of an unsolved murder (Nero)

·         Pamela Rushby, The Ratcatcher’s Daughter (HarperCollins Australia)

·         Sandi Wallace, Tell Me Why (Clan Destine Press) Debut

·           Julie Szego, The Tainted Trial of Farah Jama (Wild Dingo Press)

