Looking back, 2015 was a good year for writing, publications wise. I got writing published in many journals I had been aiming to publish in, and a few others which were wonderful, unexpected surprises.

I’m hoping for more publications this year, while knowing that I should be channeling most of that energy into the writing of my next book. The writing life is often about balance, weighing up the importance of your short and long term goals, it can be hard to strike the right balance, as I found last year. While I avoided writing the ‘dreaded’ second novel, I put my energy into writing short pieces for publication, the rewards of which are often gained much quicker. These small gains throughout the year are necessary in many ways to keep fuelling the motivation to keep going on the longer projects. I hope this year I will find a better balance between the two.

Below you can find a summary of my 2015 publications and links to read/buy them.

February – The Family Files published by Verity La

March – Overcoming Second Novel Syndrome published in WQ Magazine

April – The Late September Dogs published in Mascara Literary Review Issue 17

April – Review of Omar Musa’s Here Come The Dogs published in Mascara Literary Review Issue 17

June – The Value of Prizes published in The Victorian Writer

October – What I Talk About When I Talk About Helicopters published in Cordite Issue 51.1: Umami

December – Our Version Of Events published by Meanjin

December – Firth Avenue published in Tincture Journal Issue 12

If you still haven’t had enough, be sure to look through the rest of my blog to find all the little bits of memoir here and there that I posted throughout the year. That’s all for now!

