Yesterday I found out that my poem (after) HER: dating app adventures was shortlisted for the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem. I’m completely humbled and thrilled, it was such a surprise I even shed a few happy tears at my desk! This shortlisting means so much, and has come at exactly the right time. Many thanks to the judges, Arts Queensland and QPF, and congratulations to my fellow shortlistees, especially my QUT post-grad poetry group buddies Ella Jeffery (Val Vallis) and Mindy Gill (shortlisted for the Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize). Winners of all awards are announced on Thursday night, opening night for QPF, come along!

The full shortlist is below, and you can check out the shortlists for the other Arts Queensland awards here, so many brilliant poets!

VAL VALLIS AWARD FOR AN UNPUBLISHED POEM

Buying satin dresses at Yu Garden – Ella Jeffery
Quietly, on the way to Mars – Bronwyn Lovell
His Master’s Voice – Jeff Guess
The Future of Music – Laurie Keim
(after) HER dating app adventures – Rebecca Jessen

Friday 25th August – QUT Literary Salon Reading at QPF
10-11am @ IMA Screen Room – Judith Wright Centre, Fortitude Valley
free

The lovely folk at the QUT Literary Salon are having a special QPF event this year and you’re invited! I’ll be reading my shortlisted poem, and a couple of other new ones. Even better, I’ll be reading alongside fellow poets Ella Jeffery, Zenobia Frost, Emily O’Grady, Laura Kenny, Leo Porter and Sean West. And the event will be emceed by the lovely Mindy Gill and filmed by the QUT Lit Salon folks! Come along, it’s free!

